The Priesthood of the Samurai 2/5/2018
First of all, I've gotta share an experience that our Ward Mission Leader had. Brother Rogers is an awesome guy, he's the CEO and Executive Producer of some kind of outdoors/hunting TV show. So he has a lot of meetings with some well known public figures. This week he had a meeting with a group of people, and they were at dinner. The host dude asked the table what they wanted to drink (this is not Utah, so he wasn't asking if they wanted root beer or sprite, he was thinking more along the lines of wine, beer, or other alcoholic beverages) Anyways, one of the people at the table knew Bro Rogers was a Mormon, so he spoke up. He told the table that Bro Rogers did not drink alcohol, in fact he couldn't even be in the same room as it. And that Bro Rogers and his band of 8 missionaries go around and use the "Priesthood of the Samurai" to bless the people of the Binghamton area. So, wow. This dude has this awesome image in his head of what Mormons do. We've got stinkin Samurai's followin us around as we bless the world.
Anyways, we finished off being sicker than dogs sometime between Wednesday and Thursday. Then we had a couple cancelled appointments, which is a staple of missionary work here in the NYUM. On Saturday we had interviews with President. I found out that Johnson City will be turning into a walk area next transfer.... Annnnnd I might be training. It may be very early on in this transfer, but oh boy. The hints at the plans for next transfer are gonna make things interesting. I'm pretty excited though. We'll see what actually happens. We have a month left of this transfer.
I'm trying to think of what other exciting things have happened... I literally can't think of anything. We're slowly but surely pressing on. The coolest "investigator" we picked up this week was a dude driving an awesome Subaru WRX. We were on our way to WalMart to get milk because we ran out, and we pulled up next to a sick Subie. I gave him a thumbs up and revved our .08 Liter 4 cylinders of fury, and this dude slipped his WRX into neutral and bounced it off the redline until flames shot out of all 4 exhaust tips, then he spun all four tires and launched the thing like a mad man. We then happened to follow him all the way to WalMart, and had a nice moment where we complimented one another's cars. Anyways, now when we see this guy driving, we have nice moment where we wave, rev, and give thumbs up. As soon as we find this guys house, we are gonna have some awesome lessons. Building on common ground, gaining trust and building a friendship, is the best way to get solid investigators. So if it means getting an "aggressive driving" racing our Subie friend, so be it.
Alright, other than that, we've had a rather uneventful week. But I promise I'll have some exciting stories next week, probably, maybe, I hope.
LOVE YOU ALL. THANKS FOR THE SUPPORT AND STUFF.
Comments
Post a Comment